Heart of the Community Scholarship

Effective with all new applications received for the 2017-18 school year, from applicants graduating in 2018, the R. Robert Dale Scholarship program has been modified and renamed as the new “Heart of the Community Scholarship Program”. Because R. Robert Dale funds were expended years ago, and the program is now being supported solely by the Moose Fraternity. We believe this more accurately reflects the fraternity’s commitment to supporting youth in the community.

Another modification to the program relates to adjusting the distribution of the scholarship funds in a way that is more relevant to the needs of todays’ students. Under the R. Robert Dale Scholarship Program, funds were provided for higher education to students with Moose affiliation. Students who satisfied requirements were entered into random drawings for the chance to receive a $1,000 award and several students received scholarships. But, as the cost of higher education has steadily increased over the years, the need for more substantial financial aid has increased as well. This trend indicates a very present need for us to adapt accordingly, if we are to continue to attract young people to our organization through this program. Therefore, under the new “Heart of the Community Scholarship” program, the pool of funds will remain the same but we will be reducing the total number of scholarships given, and raising the award amount for each recipient. Yet, please note that special consideration will still be given for Lodges and Associations that exceed the program requirements.

The third component of the program that was in need of adjustment was the applicant criteria, as these were minimal under the R. Robert Dale program, requiring just a minimum cumulative GPA of 2.5 on a 4.0 scale. Applicants also were required to be a Junior in High School, and be sponsored by an active Moose member who was an immediate family member. Under the new Heart of the Community Scholarship program, students will still need to be a Junior in high school during the year of application, and will still need to be sponsored by an active Moose Member and immediate family member, but will be required to have earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale instead of a 2.5. Additionally, new in the Heart of the Community Scholarship program, students must also have participated in both in-school/ extra-curricular and out-of-school activities, to be verified by school staff and/or employers.

Applicants must also engage in volunteer activities on behalf of the Loyal Order of the Moose. This requirement assures that they have some connection to the fraternity and more appropriately embodies the spirit of volunteerism which is so foundational to our fraternity. The recipient selection process will remain exactly the same which takes into consideration an association or province’s total active membership as well as the number of applications received.

The refined Heart of the Community Scholarship program will commence in the 2017-18 academic year. Applications for the Class of 2018 will be due no later than June 30, 2017. We are confident that, by implementing these changes, we will be better able to serve the applicants, increase the integrity of the program, and better emphasize the high value our fraternity places on both activities and community service.

Printable Announcement Notice

R. Robert Dale Scholarship

The Recipient of the
2016 Charles Jesse James Scholarship
Sadie Presto - Cokeburg 1625

The Recipients of Scholarships for the Class of 2017 are:
Dominic Colao - Union City 882
Sadie Presto - Cokeburg 1625
Bailey Andres - Oil City 78 and Chapter 605
Brody Coolidge - Wellsboro 1147

The Recipient of the
2015 Charles Jesse James Scholarship
Emily Goulden - York Chapter 694

The Recipients of Scholarships for the Class of 2016 are:
Valerie Flack - North Hills/Pittsburgh 46
Amanda Barnhart - Greenville Chapter 1890
Jade Hettick - Greenville Lodge 276
Adam Gamber - Export Lodge 234

The Recipient of the
2014 Charles Jesse James Scholarship
Hayden Downey - East Erie FC 593

The Recipients of Scholarships for the Class of 2015 are:
David Johnson - Greenville FC 276
Daniel Gilligan - Danville FC 1133
Haley Bates - Greenville FC 276
Shelby Woodward - Elkland FC 746
William Graham - Greenville FC 276
Brittany Shoenfelt - Indiana FC 174

The Recipient of the
2013 Charles Jesse James Scholarship
John Carbarry - Middletown FC 410

The Recipients of Scholarships for the Class of 2014 are:
James Schafer - Greenville FC 276
Drake Burgess - Union City 882
Madeline Swiger - Youngwood 23
Chase Pepper - Canton FC 429
Samantha Quail - Canton FC 429
Emma Ferrick - Connellsville FC 16

The Recipient of the
2012 Charles Jesse James Scholarship
Melissa Setley - Hamburg FC 523

The Recipients of Scholarships for the Class of 2013 are:
Logan Rook - Canton FC 429
Kendra Toseki - Muncy Valley FC 866
Amanda Quinn - Danville FC 1133
Adam Knee - Gallitzen 185
Colin Lord - Hamburg FC 523
Brittany Reinhart - Greenville FC 276

The Recipient of the
2011 Charles Jesse James Scholarship
Matthew Bryer - Meadville FC 2505/Chapter 2143

The Recipients of Scholarships for the Class of 2012 are:
Martin Parson - Shippensburg Lodge 2500
Kelsey Bowser - New Bethleham Lodge 366
Michael Pronzato - Doylestown Lodge 1284
Matthew Waldman - Hamburg FC 523
Kelley Jay - Bedford FC 480/Chapter 1245
Michael Lochard - Union City Lodge 882

The Recipients of Scholarships for the Class of 2011 are:
Quinn Murphy - Tunkhannock 1276/1068
Carolinne Strasser - Gallitzin 185/2397
Kayla Kratzer - Middleburg 1229
Danielle Strange - Wellsboro 1147/60
Paige Lucas - Clymer 670
Kristin Route - Canton 429

The Recipients of Scholarships for the Class of 2010 are:
Jamie Gawlinski - Union City 882
Katelyn A Pettigrew - Greenville 276
Jonathan M Shingler - Lewistown 143
Carly Stauffer - St. Marys 146

NOTICE: The Loyal Order of Moose is a private organization. All activities and events referred to on this web site are available to members in good standing. This Web site is for informational purposes with proprietary information intended for members only. General information is available to the public at large, but should not be construed to be a solicitation for membership. This web site is an initiative of the Pennsylvania Moose Association, Inc, and is not sanctioned by the Loyal Order of Moose, Moose International, the Supreme Lodge or any subsidiary thereof. All logos, trademarks and servicemarks pertaining to the Loyal Order of Moose and/or its programs or degrees are copyrighted © by Moose International, Inc., Mooseheart, Illinois. The information contained herein is both confidential and privileged and shall only be available to and used by good-standing members of the Loyal Order of Moose for fraternal purposes. Any use of the information (Section 45.3 of the General Laws) contained herein for private gain or for any commercial, political or business purpose is strictly prohibited.